UCA News

Jesus' baptismal place declared World Heritage Site

Designation means Jordan too is part of the Holy Land, archbishop says
Jesus' baptismal place declared World Heritage Site
Published: February 04, 2016 04:21 AM GMT
Updated: February 04, 2016 09:11 AM GMT

The site of Jesus' baptism in the Jordan River was officially declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO on Feb. 2.

The announcement ceremony, in Paris, was attended by a delegation from Jordan, including Archbishop Maroun Lahham of Medaba, patriarchal vicar for Jordan.

During his speech, Archbishop Lahham defined the site as "a place where the voice of Christ still resounds" in Jordan and that it was considered "a quiet and safe place in the middle of a Middle East in flames," reported Fides, information service for the Pontifical Mission Societies.

"The Gospels said it 2,000 years ago, popular devotion has always confirmed it, archaeological researches have highlighted it, four popes have visited it, and today the international community will declare it officially … that Jordan is in the Holy Land. The Holy Land also and above all includes Jerusalem, Bethlehem and Nazareth, but Jordan is not the less holy," he said.

Help UCA News to be independent
Dear reader,
Trafficking is one of the largest criminal industries in the world, only outdone by drugs and arms trafficking, and is the fastest-growing crime today.
Victims come from every continent and are trafficked within and to every continent. Asia is notorious as a hotbed of trafficking.
In this series, UCA News introduces our readers to this problem, its victims, and the efforts of those who shine the light of the Gospel on what the Vatican calls “these varied and brutal denials of human dignity.”
Help us with your donations to bring such stories of faith that make a difference in the Church and society.
A small contribution of US$5 will support us continue our mission…
William J. Grimm
UCA News
Asian Bishops
Latest News
UCA News Catholic Dioceses in Asia
UCA News Catholic Dioceses in Asia
UCA News Catholic Dioceses in Asia