The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Diocese of Nakhon Sawan

Diocese of Nakhon Sawan
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

The Diocese of Nakhon Sawan was created on Feb. 25, 1967, after it was carved out from the Archdiocese of Bangkok. It consists of 13 provinces: Nakhon Sawan, Saraburi, Lop Buri, Kamphaeng Phet, Phitsanulok, Chai Nat, Tak, Phetchabun, Sing Buri, Phichit, Sukhothai, Uttaradit and Uthai Thani. The total population of the area is 8,272,430. The government encourages couples to have small families of two children.

Since the creation of the diocese 39 years ago, the work of the diocese has progressed steady. Apart from its parishes and schools in all 13 provinces, the diocese is expanding its social welfare and developmental work for tribal people.

About 88 percent of the Catholics in the diocese practice their faith regularly. In some communities, where priests are not available to celebrate Sunday Masses, catechists or community chiefs preside over the Liturgy of the Word. 

The website of Nakhon Sawan Diocese is available (only in Thai)

Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]