Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Diocese of Uijeongbu

Report An Error
Diocese of Uijeongbu
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

The Uijeongbu diocesan territory covers 2,564 square kilometers and includes Uijeongbu, Goyang, Guri, Namyangju, Paju, Dongducheon, Yangju cities and Yeoncheon-gun county in Gyeonggi-do province.

Uijeongbu diocese was carved out of Seoul archdiocese on June 24, 2004. It belongs to the ecclesiastical province of Seoul.

Every year Uijeongbu diocese holds a special Mass to pray for families separated as a result of the North-South division of the Korean peninsula at Imjingak.


In Uijeongbu diocesan jurisdiction, the population is 3,114,536 at the end of 2017. (Some 5.2 percent of the whole population 51 million in the country) Most residents are ethnic Koreans.


The standard Korean is in use. English, a mandatory subject in schools, can be spoken and understood in tourist areas. All the traffic signs are expressed in English and Korean.


Uijeongbu diocese falls within the temperate  zone and has the four distinctive seasons of spring, summer, autumn and winter. The yearly average temperature of Uijeongbu is 12 degrees Celsius. The annual precipitation in the region averages 1,100 millimeters. Most of the rainfall is concentrated in the rainy months (monsoon period) of June through September.


Uijeongbu is located at the middle-western Korean peninsula or north of Seoul. Most of the diocese is northern part of Gyeonggi-do province which is relatively undeveloped area.

Recently the DMZ attracts attention as ecological preservation and peaceful interchange area between North and South Koreas.

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]