Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Diocese of Cheju/Jeju

Report An Error
Diocese of Cheju/Jeju
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

The Cheju diocesan territory covers 1,847 square kilometers and includes the entire area of Jeju Special Self-Governing Province.

Cheju diocese belongs to the ecclesiastical province of Gwangju which comprises Gwangju archdiocese and Jeonju diocese. The territory was carved out of Gwangju archdiocese as an apostolic prefecture on June 28, 1971. Then it became a diocese on March 2, 1977.

The diocese of Cheju started the Small Christian Community movement in 2003 and today through this movement they are doing their best to realize the ideal church. The diocese will give its utmost support to Small Christian Communities and they would like to practice Christ's love and sharing through various education programs.

In 2007, Cheju diocese set up the special committee for the Island of Peace and pledged more active opposition against a naval base plan in the island.

Cheju diocese has the sisterhood relationship with Kyoto diocese of Japan since 2005.


The population within Cheju diocesan territory was 641,355 as of the end of 2016, accounting for 1.13 percent of the country's population 51 million. Most residents are ethnic Koreans.


The standard Korean is in use. English, a mandatory subject in schools, can be spoken and understood in business and tourist areas. All the traffic signs are in English and Korean.


Jeju (formerly Cheju) falls within the Subtropical Zone and displays a temperate oceanic climate. It has the four distinctive seasons of spring, summer, autumn and winter.

The yearly average temperature of the whole Jeju is 11.7 degrees Celsius. Compared with those of other places at the same latitude, it's relatively low due to the cold winter season.

The annual precipitation averages 2,044 millimeters. About 43% of the annual rainfalls are reported in June, July and August.


Jeju Special Self-Governing Province is a volcanic island (an extinct volcano) and located in the southernmost of Korea.

Mt. Halla (1,950m) rising in the middle of the island and the shoreline featured volcanic activity in the past. It is covered with strangely shaped rocks, swamps, parasitic volcanoes, craters, lava tubes, caves, grasslands, woods and valleys abundant with animals and plants. Jeju is called "the Island of 3 multitudes," which are stones, winds and women.

In 2005, the Korean government designated Jeju an "Island of Peace" to boost its international image for attracting more foreign tourists and to heal the wounds which the Jeju April 3 Incident caused to local people. The police and military massacred some 30,000 civilians, after communists on the island started a riot on April 3, 1948.

And Jeju Volcanic Islands and Lava Tubes was inscribed as a natural property of outstanding beauty which bears testimony to the history of our planet by UNESCO's World Heritage Committee on June 27, 2007.

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Asian Saints

Asian Pilgrimages

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory is the largest information database on the Church in Asia, brought to you by UCA News.
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur,
75007 Paris.
[email protected]