Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Archdiocese of Osaka-Takamatsu

Report An Error
Archdiocese of Osaka-Takamatsu
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

Pope Francis on Aug. 15, 2023, merged the Diocese of Takamatsu with the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Osaka in Japan.

Cardinal Thomas Aquino Manyo Maeda, who was the archbishop of Osaka since 2014, was named on Aug. 15 as the first archbishop of the new Archdiocese of Osaka-Takamatsu. The last bishop of the Diocese of Takamatsu, John Eijiro Suwa, retired in 2022.

Osaka has a total land area of 15,020 square kilometers, and the diocesan territory covers Osaka, Hyogo and Wakayama prefectures. Takamatsu has a land area of 18,792 square kilometers, and the diocesan territory covers Kagawa, Ehime, Tokushimaand Kochi prefectures.


Archdiocese of Osaka

In the diocesan territory, the population is 15,333,735 at end of 2016. Most residents are ethnic Japanese. There are also 314,842 non-Japanese people, according to the Immigration Bureau of Japan.

 Archdiocese of Takamatsu

In the diocesan territory, the population is 3,845,000 at end of 2017. Most residents are ethnic Japanese. There are also 27,613 non-Japanese people according to the Immigration Bureau of Japan.


The territory has many languages and dialects.


Archdiocese of Osaka

On June 15, 1891, the vicariate apostolic of Central Japan was raised to the status of a diocese and constituted diocese of Osaka. The vicar apostolic, Monsignor Felix Nicolas Midon, M.E.P., was consecrated bishop. On Jan. 27, 1904, with the establishment of the prefecture apostolic of Shikoku, all of Shikoku was entrusted to Spanish Dominicans, and on May 4, 1923, with the establishment of the vicariate apostolic of Hiroshima, the five prefectures of Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Shimane, and Tottori were entrusted to German Jesuits.

On June 17, 1937, when the prefecture apostolic of Kyoto was established, the four prefectures of Kyoto, Nara, Mie, and Shiga were entrusted to the Maryknoll Fathers, and the present jurisdiction consisting of the Hyogo, Osaka, and Wakayama regions was established. In 1940, upon the resignation of Bishop Jean-Baptiste Castanier, M.E.P., Father Yoshigoro Taguchi was appointed to succeed him and was consecrated bishop on Dec. 14, 1941.

On June 24, 1969, the Osaka diocese was raised to the rank of archdiocese and Bishop Taguchi was appointed the first archbishop of Osaka.

On Feb. 5, 1970, Father Hisao Yasuda was appointed auxiliary bishop and was consecrated on March 21, the same year.

On March 3, 1973, Archbishop Taguchi was elevated to a cardinal. On Feb. 23, 1978, Cardinal Taguchi died, and on Nov. 15 of the same year Bishop Yasuda was appointed archbishop of Osaka.

Father Jun Ikenaga, S.J. was appointed coadjutor archbishop of Osaka on Nov. 2, 1995. He was consecrated bishop on March 20, 1996.

Archbishop Yasuda resigned on May 10, 1997, and Archbishop Ikenaga was installed on June 22, 1997.

Auxiliary Bishop Goro Matsuura was consecrated on July 17 of the same year. On August 20, 2014, Archbishop Ikenaga resigned and Bishop Manyo Maeda of Hiroshima was appointed archbishop of Osaka, who was installed on September 23. (Catholic Bishops' Conference of Japan)

Diocese of Takamatsu

The Prefecture Apostolic of Shikoku was established on January 27, 1904 when the four prefectures of Shikoku (Tokushima, Kochi, Kagawa, and Ehime) were separated from the Diocese of Osaka and entrusted to Spanish Dominicans of the Rosario Province. On February 26, 1904, Father Jose Alvarez, O.P. was appointed as the first prefect apostolic.

In 1931, when Monsignor Alvarez resigned because of illness, Monsignor Tomas de la Hoz, O.P. succeeded him as prefect apostolic. In 1935 Father Modesto Perez, O.P. was appointed. He resigned in 1940, and from 1941 Bishop Yoshigoro Taguchi of Osaka served concomitantly as administrator of the Prefecture Apostolic of Shikoku. In 1949, the prefect apostolic's residence was moved from Tokushima to Takamatsu.

On September 13, 1963, the Prefecture Apostolic of Shikoku was elevated to the status of a diocese and its name was changed to the Diocese of Takamatsu. On October 20 of that year Father Eikichi Tanaka was consecrated bishop and became the first Bishop of Takamatsu. Father Satoshi Fukahori was consecrated bishop on September 23, 1977 and took over as Bishop of Takamatsu.

On May 14, 2004, Bishop Fukahori resigned and Bishop Osamu Mizobe was appointed his successor. Bishop Mizobe was installed on July 19, 2004. (Catholic Bishops' Conference of Japan, 2010)


Airplanes, railways, ships and buses connect the diocesan territory with the rest of the world.


Throughout Japan, literacy is 99 percent, according to the Central Intelligence Agency, US, report 2010.

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Asian Saints

Asian Pilgrimages

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory is the largest information database on the Church in Asia, brought to you by UCA News.
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur,
75007 Paris.
[email protected]