The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Archdiocese of Jakarta

Archdiocese of Jakarta
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

On May 8, 1807, the Vatican established the Apostolic Prefecture of Batavia (Jakarta's name during Dutch colonial time), which included almost the whole archipelago. In 1808, the first two Dutch missionaries arrived in Batavia. Since then, a few Dutch diocesan priests worked among the Dutch Catholics in Batavia. 

In 1842, the Apostolic Prefecture became an Apostolic Vicariate, and Monsignor I. Grooff was appointed its first Apostolic Vicar. Monsignor P.M. Vrancken, who landed together with several diocesan priests in 1848, replaced him. A number of Ursuline sisters, who arrived in 1856, were the first nuns in Batavia. They opened a school here. In 1859, the first Jesuits arrived in Jakarta. 

From 1902 to 1919, all islands outside Java were removed from the jurisdiction of the apostolic vicariate. During the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945), the name Batavia was changed to Jakarta. From 1927-1957, almost all of Java, outside the capital of Jakarta, was removed from the jurisdiction of the apostolic vicariate. Apostolic Vicar Petrus Willekens, SJ, was appointed in 1934. He resigned in 1952. Monsignor Adrianus Djajasepoetra, a Jesuit, replaced him in 1953.

On Jan. 3, 1961, Pope John Paul XXIII established the Catholic hierarchy in Indonesia. Jakarta was declared an archdiocese and Jesuit Archbishop Adrianus Djajasepoetra became its first archbishop. He was the first Indonesian bishop in Jakarta. By establishing the hierarchy in Indonesia, Jakarta and West Java became a Church province that included the Archdiocese of Jakarta, Diocese of Bogor and Diocese of Bandung. 

The number of Catholics in Jakarta increased from 2,409 in 1941 (not including the European Catholics), to 27,674 in 1952, 32,599 in 1962, 86,236 in 1972, 163,042 in 1980, 234,204 in 1985, 260,524 in 1987, 394,332 in 2001, and 434,762 in 2003. During the time of Jesuit Archbishop Leo Soekoto (1970-1995), the Catholics had increased from 70,520 to be 335,835. 

Since 1997, Cardinal Julius Riyadi Darmaatmadja, former archbishop of Semarang, the capital of Central Java province, has been Archbishop of Jakarta.

Jakarta archdiocese covers 2,983 square kilometers and includes one province (Jakarta Special Province, 655 square kilometers) and two neighboring districts of other provinces --Tangerang district of Banten province (1,044 square kilometers) and Bekasi district of West Java province (1,284 square kilometers). According to 2016 data, Catholics of the archdiocese number 499,485 out of a total population of 19,090,000.

The archdiocese has eight deaneries: Central Jakarta, West Jakarta I, West Jakarta II, North Jakarta, South Jakarta, East Jakarta, Tangerang and Bekasi. The Catholics of Jakarta archdiocese come from several ethnic backgrounds. They include Chinese, Javanese, Batak (people of North Sumatra), Minahasa (people of North Sulawesi), Toraja (people of South Sulawesi), Timorese and Florinese (people of East Nusa Tenggara).

Pastoral Basic Guidelines 2011-2015: The Church of the Archdiocese of Jakarta has a goal which is being the People of God that – through the Holy Spirit’s help - deepens their faith in Jesus Christ, develops a true brotherhood and gets involved in charitable works among the society.

With the spirituality of the Good Shepherd and generous ministry as foundation and participative and transformative pastoral order, all people of the Archdiocese of Jakarta are willing to hold various activities to reflect on the Gospel and Catholic’s tradition and teachings and put them into practice, to get involved in paying attention to various social issues particularly poverty, the environmental destruction and religious intolerance.

The plan of such activities and involvement is materialized by developing a data-based pastoral service, empowering the BECs, driving the contextual pastoral works, making laity alive, and holding an ongoing counseling for pastoral workers.

May Mother Mary, the Mother of Church, strengthen our faith, hope and love so that we all - together with all Disciples, our protectors – can walk together in joy and make our ideal come true.

Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]