Diocese of Bogor
Diocese of Bogor

Bogor diocese covers an area of 18,369 square kilometers, comprising three districts (Bogor, Cianjur and Sukabumi) and three municipalities (Bogor, Depok and Sukabumi) of West Java province, and three districts (Serang, Lebak and Pandeglang) and two municipalities (Serang and Cilegon) of Banten province. Both West Java and Banten are predominantly Muslim areas, but the diocese does not consider itself a minority group. Instead it refers to itself as a Diaspora Church called to establish friendly dialogue and to respect local cultures. 

The Apostolic Prefecture of Sukabumi, established on Dec. 9, 1948, was elevated to the Diocese of Bogor on Jan. 3, 1961. Franciscan Bishop Nicolaus Johannes Cornelis Geise was appointed the first bishop of Bogor. The Dutch missioner, who was also an anthropologist, resigned on March 1, 1975. He was succeeded by Bishop Ignatius Harsono, Bogor's first diocesan priest, who was ordained bishop on May 8, 1975. Following Bishop Harsono's resignation on July 17, 1993, Archbishop Jesuit Leo Soekoto of Jakarta administered the diocese until the appointment of Bishop Angkur in 1994 succeeded the Jakarta archbishop. Bogor's cathedral was consecrated to the Blessed Mother.

The website of Bogor Diocese is available (in Indonesian) at: www.keuskupanbogor.org

The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong