The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Diocese of Simdega

Diocese of Simdega
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

Total land area of the diocese 3761.2 square kilometers. Simdega is located in the south-western part of the state of Jharkhand. Simdega is surrounded by Gumla district in the North, Khunti and West Singhbhum in the east, Chhattisgarh state in the west and Orissa state in the South. This district was carved out from erstwhile Gumla district on April 30, 2001.


Among the 648,515 people in the diocesan territory in 2017, Munda, Oraons, and Kharias, Badaiks, Muslims and Hindus are the ethnic groups.


Languages used in the diocesan territory are Hindi, Mundari, Oraon, Kharia, and Nagpuria.


India is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of Government. India follows a parliamentary form of democracy and the government is federal in structure. In Indian political system, the President is the constitutional head of the executive of the Union of India. The real executive power is with the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers.

Jharkhand follows a Unicameral system of government i.e. it has only one house - the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) consists of 82 members, out of which one is nominated from Anglo Indian Community and 81 are elected members. No Catholic member from the Diocese is elected to State Assembly.

The state is headed by a Governor, who is appointed by the President of India. However, the real executive power rests with the Chief Minister and the Cabinet. At present Sri Arjun Munda is the Chief Minister. The political party or the coalition of political parties having majority in the Legislative Assembly forms the Government. The main political parties are Jharkhand Vananchal Congress, Marxist Coordination Committee and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

The administrative head of the State is called Chief Secretary, under whose jurisdiction a hierarchy of officials drawn from the Indian Administrative Service/State Civil Services function. Presently, the state has 24 districts.

The judiciary is headed by a Chief Justice and Jharkhand has a separate High Court, located in Ranchi.
Jharkhand is an ancient land and a newly formed state. Jharkhand was carved out of the southern part of Bihar on Nov. 15, 2000. The name "Jharkhand" means "The Land of Forests". Jharkhand shares its border with the states of Bihar to the north, Uttar Pradesh and Chhattisgarh to the west, Orissa to the south, and West Bengal to the east. It has an area of 46,402.22 square miles The industrial city of Ranchi is its capital while Jamshedpur is the largest city of the state.

Simdega Diocese has no Parliamentary Constituencies. Simdega is one of the Jharkahnd assembly constituencies, currently occupied by Ms. Vimla Pradhan from Bharatiya Janata Party.


Roads are being used for transportation in the area.


Per capita income in the diocesan territory: Rs. 23 361 or USD522 as of December 2010.

Major industries: None; Trade and agriculture: Paddy, Maize, Groundnut, and Black beans.


The literacy rate is Female: 23 percent, Male: 45 percent

Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]