Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Diocese of Dumka

Report An Error
Diocese of Dumka
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

In a land area of 14,356 square kilometers, the diocesan territory covers Sahibganj, Pakur, Jamtara, Deoghar (excluding Deoghar, Mohanpur and Sarawan blocks) and Rampurhat sub-divion in Birbhum district in West Bengal.


In 2016, there are 4,332,000 people in the diocesan territory and 163,100 of them are Catholics. Ethnic groups are Santhals, Bengalis, Paharias, Oraons, Muslims, and Hindus.


Languages used in the diocesan territory are Hindi, Bengali, Paharia, and Oraon.


India is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of Government. India follows a parliamentary form of democracy and the government is federal in structure. In Indian political system, the President is the constitutional head of the executive of the Union of India. The real executive power is with the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers. 

Jharkhand follows a unicameral system of government i.e. it has only one house - the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) consisting of 82 members, out of whom one is nominated from Anglo Indian Community and 81 are elected members. 

There are four Vidhan Sabha seats in Dumka Diocesan territorial area namely, Dumka, Jama, Jamtara, and Sarath. Out of the four Jharkhand Assembly Constituencies no Catholic member is elected from the Diocese. 
Jharkhand has 14 seats in the Lok Sabha - the Lower House of Parliament. Dumka is one of the Parliamentary Constituencies which fall under the Diocesan territory which is currently occupied by Shri Shibu Soren of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. Not a single Catholic candidate has ever contested for Lok Sabha seats from the Diocese. 

The state is headed by a Governor, who is appointed by the President of India. However, the real executive power rests with the Chief Minister and the Cabinet. At present Sri Arjun Munda is the Chief Minister. The political party or the coalition of political parties having majority in the Legislative Assembly forms the Government. The main political parties are Jharkhand Vananchal Congress, Marxist Coordination Committee and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. 

The administrative head of the State is called Chief Secretary, under whose jurisdiction a hierarchy of officials drawn from the Indian Administrative Service/State Civil Servic


Road and railway are common in the diocesan territory.


The annual percapita income in the diocesan territory is Rs.23, 361 ($515) as of February 2011. 

Major industries are steel, sericulture, and tourism.


Mobile phones are common in the diocesan territory. Radio station in the territory is All India Radio, Ranchi.


Literacy rate in the area is 82 percent among men and 72 percent among women.


The state has ebullient festivals like Sarhul, Sohrai, Karma, Christmas, Id, Holi and Dushahra.  Tribal communities have their unique festivals. Folk music and dances are part and parcel of the tribal culture. People sing and dance in open places according to seasons.

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Asian Saints

Asian Pilgrimages

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory is the largest information database on the Church in Asia, brought to you by UCA News.
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur,
75007 Paris.
[email protected]