The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Archdiocese of Delhi

Archdiocese of Delhi
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share

Archdiocese of Delhi comprises the state of Delhi and districts of Gurgaon, Rohtak, Mahendragarh, Sonepat, Faridabad, Nuh, Jhajjar and Rewari in Haryana state.

Suffragan dioceses are Jammu-Srinagar, Jalandhar, Simla and Chandigarh.


The total population of the archdiocese as of 2013 is 27.5 million.


Christian presence in Delhi and the surrounding areas can be traced back to around 1626.

In spite of the shortage of priests, the archdiocese of Delhi-Simla made sufficient progress and on June 4, 1959, the archdiocese was bifurcated into two separate ecclesiastical units  -- diocese of Simla-Chandigarh and archdiocese of Delhi -- and both were handed over to the diocesan clergy. While Archbishop Joseph Fernandes was renamed archbishop of Delhi, Msgr. John Burke, the then vicar general of Delhi archdiocese, was consecrated on Nov. 1, 1959, as the first bishop of the newly carved out diocese of Simla-Chandigarh. On the same day, Father Angelo Fernandes, the then administrator of Holy Name Cathedral, Bombay, was appointed coadjutor archbishop of Delhi.

Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]