The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Archdiocese of Ha Noi

Archbishop Joseph Vu Van Thiên
Archbishop Vu Van Thiên
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Joseph Vu Van Thiên
Toa Tong Giam Muc,
40 Pho Nha Chung,
Hoan Kiem, Ha Noi,
Viet nam

Phone: (04)
Fax :

Archbishop Joseph Vu Van Thien was born on Oct. 26, 1960, in Ke Sat parish, Hai Duong province. He has four sisters and brothers.

He started his theological and philosophical studies at Saint Joseph Major Seminary in Ha Noi in 1982 and was ordained a priest by the late Bishop Joseph Marie Nguyen Tung Cuong of Hai Phong at the Our Lady of the Rosary Cathedral on Jan. 24, 1988. He served as secretary of the bishop's residence and provided pastoral activities for four parishes. In 1996, he started his further studies at the Institut Catholique de Paris for four years. On Nov. 26, 2002, Pope John Paul II appointed him Bishop of Hai Phong and the late Cardinal Paul Joseph Pham Dinh Tung of Ha Noi ordained him on Jan. 2, 2003.

Bishop Thien heads the Episcopal Commission for Youth of the Vietnam Bishops' Conference.

On 17 Nov 2018, Pope Francis has appointed Joseph V? V?n Thiên as the new archbishop of Hanoi, northern Vietnam.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Cardinal Pierre Van Nhon Nguyen (13 May 2010 Succeeded - 17 Nov 2018 Retired)
  • Bishop Laurence Van Minh Chu (15 Oct 2008 to 26 Jan 2019)
  • Archbishop Joseph Ngo Quang Kiet (2003-2010)
  • Bishop Paul Le Dac Trong (1994-2006)
  • Cardinal Archbishop Paul Joseph Pham Dinh Tung (1990-2003)
  • Auxiliary Bishop Francis Xavier Nguyen Van Sang (1981-1990)
  • Cardinal Joseph Marie Trinh Van Can (1963-1990)
  • Cardinal Joseph Marie Trinh Nhu Khue (1950-1978)
  • Bishop Francois Chaize Thinh, MEP (1935-1949)
  • Bishop Pierre Jean Marie Gendreau Dong, MEP (1892-1935)
  • Bishop Paul Francois Puginier Phuoc, MEP (1868-1892)
  • Bishop Joseph Simon Theurel Chieu, MEP (1866-1868)
  • Bishop Charles Hubert Jeantet Khiem, MEP (1858-1866)
  • Bishop Pierre André Retord Lieu, MEP (1840-1858)
  • Bishop Pierre Borie Cao, MEP (1838)
  • Bishop Joseph Marie Havard Giu, MEP (1831-1838)
  • Bishop Jean Jacques Guérard Doan, MEP (1816-1823)
  • Bishop Charles La Mothe Hau I, MEP (1796-1816)
  • Bishop Jacques Benjamin Longer, MEP (1789-1831)
  • Bishop Jean Davoust, MEP (1780-1789)
  • Bishop Bertrand Reydellet Be, MEP (1764-1780)
  • Bishop Edmond Bennetat, MEP (1758)
  • Bishop Louis-Marie Deveaux, MEP (1746-1756)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP (1738-1764)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP (1723-1738)
  • Bishop Francois Gabriel Guisain, MEP (1718-1723)
  • Bishop Edme Bélot, MEP (1714-1717)
  • Bishop Jacques de Bourges, MEP (1679-1714)
  • Bishop Francois Pallu, MEP (1659-1679)
  • Bishop Louis Néez, MEP ()
Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]