Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Archdiocese of Cebu

Report An Error
Archbishop Jose Serofia Palma
Archbishop Palma
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Jose Serofia Palma
Archbishop's Residence,
234 D. Jakosalem St.,
(P.O. Box 52),
6000 Cebu City, Philippines

Phone: +63 32 2540951, 2533382
Fax :+63 32 255-4458
Email: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]

Archbishop José Serofia Palma, D.D., STD, the fourth Archbishop of Cebu, was born on March 19, 1950 in Dingle in the Archdiocese of Jaro, province of Iloilo in the Visayan island of Panay. He studied philosophy at the St. Vincent Ferrer Seminary in Jaro and finished his theological studies at the St. Joseph Regional Seminary in the same locale. He received his licentiate in Sacred Theology Magna Cum Laude at the University of Sto. Tomas Central Seminary, and a doctorate from the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas in Rome, also Magna Cum Laude. He was ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Jaro on Aug. 21, 1976.

After a year as assistant priest at the Cathedral of Jaro, he taught at the St Vincent Ferrer Seminary. After his studies in Rome, Father Palma became rector of the same St. Vincent Ferrer Seminary until he was appointed rector of the Major seminary of the Metropolitan Province of Jaro, the St. Joseph Regional Seminary in 1988. Meanwhile, he also held various positions in several diocesan commissions. In 1997 he was made parish priest of the Parish of St Anthony of Padua in Iloilo (Archdiocese of Jaro). On Nov. 28, 1997, the late Pope John Paul II appointed him Titular Bishop of Vazari Diddi and Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu. He was consecrated on Jan. 13, 1998. In Cebu he was assigned as Parish Priest of Sto. Rosario Parish, a major parish in Cebu City. Exactly a year later, he was made Bishop-Ordinary of the Diocese of Calbayog in Samar.

On March 18, 2006, Palma was appointed Archbishop of Palo by Pope Benedict XVI vice Archbishop Pedro Dean. He currently serves as Vice-President of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines (CBCP), a position to which he was elected on Dec. 1, 2009.

On Oct. 15, 2010, he was appointed Archbishop of Cebu, replacing long-serving Ricardo J. Cardinal Vidal. With his installation set on Jan. 13, 2011 at the Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral, Archbishop Palma will follow in the footsteps of his illustrious predecessors: Archbishop Gabriel M. Reyes, a fellow Ilonggo who hails from Kalibo, Aklan and the first archbishop of Cebu when it was established as an archdiocese in 1934 and who later would become the first Filipino Archbishop of Manila, Julio R. Cardinal Rosales, the first cardinal-archbishop to serve the archdiocese, and Cardinal Vidal.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Dennis Cabanada Villarojo ( 3 Jul 2015 to 14 May 2019)
  • Bishop Oscar Jaime Llaneta Florencio (3 Jul 2015 to 2 Mar 2019)
  • Bishop Emilio L. Bataclan (24 Feb 1990 to 3 May 1995)
  • Julio Rosales y Ras (1949 - 1982)
  • Juan Bautista Gorordo (1910 - 1931)
  • Thomas A. Hendrick (1903 - 1909)
  • Benito Romero, O.F.M. (1876 - 1885)
  • Santos Gmez Maran, O.S.A. (1829 - 1840)
  • Francisco Genovs, O.P. (1825 - 1827)
  • Mateo Joaquin Rubio de Arevalo (1775 - 1788)
  • Protacio Cabezas (1740 - 1753)
  • Pedro Sanz de la Vega y Landaverde, O. de M. (1705 - 1717)
  • Diego de Aguilar, O.P. (1676 - 1692)
  • Juan Velez (1660 - 1662)
  • Pedro Arce, O.S.A. (1612 - 1645)
  • Pedro de Agurto, O.S.A. (1595 - 1608)

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory is the largest information database on the Church in Asia, brought to you by UCA News.
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur,
75007 Paris.
[email protected]