Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Archdiocese of Tuguegarao

Report An Error
Archbishop Ricardo Lingan Baccay
Archbishop Lingan Baccay
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Ricardo Lingan Baccay
Archbishop's House,
Rizal Street, Tuguegarao City,
3500 Cagayan, Philippines

Phone: (078)844-1663; 844-1333
Fax :846-1705
Email: [email protected]

Bishop Ricardo was born on April 3, 1961 in Tuguegarao and was ordained a priest on April 10, 1987 and received Episcopal Ordination on April 10 2007.

He was appointed the Auxillary Bishop of Tuguegarao and Titular Bishop of Gabala on February 27, 2007. His Ordination as Bishop was on April 10,2007.

He completed schooling in 1978 and joined Pontifical Central Seminary, University of Santo Tomas in Manila, where he completed his philosophy and theological studies in 1986.

He also did his Master of Arts in Education form Lyceum of Aparri and doctorate in Educational Management.

Soon after his priestly ordination, he became the secretary of the Archbishop in 1987 and archdiocesan director of Catechesis. He served the parish of St. Dominic in Gataggaman for six year until 1999, and was transferred to St. Dominic parish in Gataggaman, which he served still 2005.

From 2005 till he was appointed auxiliary bishop he was Rector San Jacinto minor Seminary in Tuguegarao.

As a bishop, he was Member, CBCP Permanent Committee on Cultural Heritage of the Church and also member of CBCP Episcopal Commission on Catechesis and Catholic Education.

At the time of new appointment, he is also member of CBCP Episcopal Commission on Seminaries and Member of CBCP Office on Bioethics.

On 18 Oct 2019, Pope Francis appointed him as the Archbishop of Tuguegarao.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Archbishop Sergio L. Utleg (15 Jun 2011 Appointed - 18 Oct 2019 Retired)
  • Bishop Ricardo L. Baccay (23 Feb 2007 to 20 Feb 2016)
  • Diosdado A. Talamayan (1986-2011)
  • Archbishop Talamayan Diosdado A. (1986-2011)
  • Diosdado Talamayan (Bishop January 31, 1986 to June 15, 2011 Retired)
  • Paciano Basilio Aniceto (Auxiliary Bishop: April 7, 1979 to Oct. 20, 1983)
  • Rodolfo Fontiveros Beltran (Priest: March 25, 1976 to March 18, 2006)
  • Sergio Lasam Utleg (Priest: March 30, 1968 to Feb. 10, 1997)
  • Teodulfo Sabugai Domingo † (Bishop: April 29, 1957; Archbishop: Sept. 21, 1974 to January 31, 1986)
  • Alejandro Olalia † (Coadjutor Bishop: May 14, 1949; Bishop: May 6, 1950 to Dec. 28, 1953)
  • Salvador Lazo Lazo † (Priest: March 22, 1947; Auxiliary Bishop: Dec. 1, 1969 to Aug. 3, 1977)
  • Constancio Jurgens, C.I.C.M. † (Bishop: Jan. 27, 1928 to May 6, 1950)
  • Santiago Caragnan Sancho † (Bishop: Feb. 5, 1917 to April 22, 1927)
  • Maurice Patrick Foley † (Bishop: Sept. 1, 1910 to Sept. 6, 1916)

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]