The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News
The Pontificate - Contribute to help UCA News

Archdiocese of Jaro

Archbishop Jose Romeo O. Lazo
Archbishop Lazo
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Jose Romeo O. Lazo
Archbishop's House,
Jaro, 5000 Iloilo City,

Phone: (033)329-4442
Fax :(033)329-4442
Email: [email protected]

Bishop Lazo was born in San José de Buenavista Antique in 1949. He completed his seminary training at the St Vincent Ferrer Major Seminary in Jaro, and was ordained a priest in 1975. After his ordination he pursued higher studies at the East Asian Pastoral Institute, Quezon City, and the Institute of Pastoral Theology in Berkely in the United States.

After serving as a parish priest in Dao, he began teaching in St Peter’s Minor Seminary, later becoming rector there in 1983. From 1987-1993 he served as Vicar General for the Diocese of San José de Antique. After Post-graduate studies, in 1998 he became a member of the Assist Program organized by the Philippine Bishops for the on-going formation of local clery.

In 2003 Bishop Lazo was appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Kalibo, and was ordained bishop on 29 December. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him as bishop of the Diocese of San Jose de Antique in 2009. He is currently vice chairman of the Episcopal Commission on Clergy, and a member of the Episcopal Commission on vocations for the Catholic Bishop’s Conference of the Philippines.

On Feb 14, 2018 Pope Francis appointed him as Archbishop of Jaro, Philippines.The appointment of Bishop Lazo came after the pontiff accepted the resignation of Archbishop Angel Lagdameo, Jaro's archbishop since 2000.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Gerardo A. Alminaza (29 May 2008 to 14 Sep 2013)
  • Angel N. Lagdameo (11 Mar 2000 Appointed - 14 Feb 2018 Retired)
  • Archbishop Alberto J. Piamonte (1986-1998)
  • Archbishop Artemio G. Casas (1974-1985)
  • Archbishop Jaime L. Sin (1972-1974)
  • Archbishop Jose Ma. Cuenco, D.D. (1945-1972)
  • Bishop James P. McCloskey (1920-1945)
  • Bishop Maurice Foley (1916-1919)
  • Bishop Dennis Dougherty (1908-1916)
  • Bishop Frederick L. Rooker (1903-1907)
  • Bishop Andres Ferrero, OAR (1898-1903)
  • Bishop Leandro Arrue, OAR (1885 -1897)
  • Bishop Mariano Cuartero, OP (1868-1884)
Support UCA News
Support UCA News
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]