In Memories of Two Cardinals in Asia

Cardinal Cheong
Cardinal Sim

The Church in Asia lost two cardinals in less than two months this year.

Cardinal Cornelius Sim, a new cardinal in Asia and the first of Brunei, died on May 29. He was 69.

Cardinal Nicholas Cheong Jin-suk, 89, former archbishop of Seoul and president of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Korea, passed away on April 27.

More about the lives of Cardinal Sim and Cardinal Cheong
and the Churches in Brunei and South Korea, of which their missions were dedicated to.

Support our Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory now.
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Slavery In Asia
Slavery In Asia
Slavery In Asia

Archdiocese of Madras-Mylapore

Report An Error
Archbishop George Antonysamy
Archbishop Antonysamy
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop George Antonysamy
Archbishop's House,
21, Santhome High Road,
Santhome, Chennai - 600 004,
Tamil Nadu, India.

Phone: (91) 44-24940833; 24941102
Email: [email protected], [email protected]

Archbishop George Antonysamy was born on Feb. 15, 1952 in Trichy, Tamil Nadu. He did his early school education in his native place and then joined St. Augustine's Minor Seminary.

He completed theology studies from Urban University, Rome. He was ordained priest on Nov. 19, 1980 in Trichy.

After one year as assistant parish priest at the Holy Redeemer's Minor Basilica, Trichy, he was sent to Rome for higher studies.

In 2002, Pope John Paul II appointed him as the charge d’affaires of the Vatican embassy in Jordan.

On August 4, 2005, Monsignor George Antonysamy was elected as titular archbishop of Sulci in Sardinia, Italy, by Pope Benedict XVI and had his episcopal ordination on Sept. 21, 2005 in Trichy.

He was simultaneously appointed as the apostolic nuncio to Gambia, Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone, an office which he holds until now.

Pope Benedict XVI has appointed Archbishop George Antonysamy, apostolic nuncio to West African Countries, as the new archbishop of Madras and Mylapore on Nov. 21, 2012.

He succeeds Archbishop Malayappan Chinnappa, who has retired.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Archbishop Emeritus Chinnappa Malayappan (2005-2012)
  • Archbishop Malayappan Chinnappa (2005-2012)
  • Bishop Lawrence Pius Dorairaj (1998-2012)
  • Archbishop Arul Das James (1994-2004)
  • Archbishop Casimir Gnanadickam, SJ (1987- 1993)
  • Archbishop R. Arulappa (1966-1987)
  • Archbishop Louis Mathias, SDB (1952-1965)
  • Dom Manuel de Medeiros Guerreiro (1937-1951)
  • Bishop Louis Mathias, SDB (1935-1952)
  • Dom Carlos de Sa Fragoso (1933-1937)
  • Dom Antonio Maria Teixeira (1929-1933)
  • Dom Eugene Mederlet (1928-1935)
  • Dom John Aelen (1912-1928)
  • Dom Theotonio Emmanuel Ribeiro Vieira de Castro (1899-1929)
  • Dom Antonio de souza Barroso (1897-1899)
  • Dom Jose Henrique Reed de Silva (1887-1897)
  • Dom Joseph Colgan (1882-1911)
  • Dom Stephen Fennelly (1868-1880)
  • Dom John Fennelly (1841-1868)
  • Dom Patrick Joseph Carew (1838-1841)
  • Dom Daniel O' Connor, OSA (1834-1840)
  • Dom Pedro de Alcantra, OCD (1833)
  • Dom John Bede Polding, OSB (1832)
  • Bishops Elect, Episcopal Governors or Vicars General (1828-1886)
  • Dom Estevo de Jesus Maria, OM (1826-1828)
  • Bishops Elect, Episcopal Governors or Vicars General (1811-1826)
  • Dom Joaqim de Menez Athaide, OSA (1805-1811)
  • Dom Manoel de Jesus Maria Jose, OSA (1788-1800)
  • Dom Antonia da Assumpcao, OSA (1780-1788)
  • Dom Bernardo de S Caetano, OSA (1755-1780)
  • Dom Theodardo de Santa Maria, OSA (1750-1755)
  • Dom Antonio de Incarnacao, OSA (1745-1750)
  • Dom Jose Pinheiro, SJ (1725-1745)
  • Dom Eugenio Trigueiros (1723-1725)
  • Dom Manoel Sanchez Golao (1715-1723)
  • Dom Francisco Laynes, SJ (1710-1715)
  • Dom Gaspar Alfonso Alvares SJ (1693-1710)
  • Bishops Elect, Episcopal Governors or Vicars General (1637-1693)
  • Dom Luiz Paulo da Estrella, OM (1634-1637)
  • Dom Luiz de Brito Menezes, OSA (1615-1634)
  • Dom Sebastio de S Pedro, OSA (1606-1615)

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
The Union of Catholic Asian News (UCA News, UCAN) is the leading independent Catholic news source in Asia.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]